Marji Laine

I Love a Good Mystery!

Review: Silenced by Dani Pettrey

4 SilencedDid you miss the original post at the Suspense Sisters blog? Well this review is worth your 3 minutes, and Silenced is well-worth your evening!

Dani Pettrey’s fourth book in her Alaskan Courage series stands up to the quality and delight of the other three.

In Silenced, Kaydon, the oldest sister of the McKenna clan deals with hidden fears and longings. An avid climber, she finds a body on the ledge of a cliff. Only this death is no accident. Kaydon’s experience is needed to investigate the tragedy with Jake, newly deputized former detective. But the tight climbing community throws barriers in their way. Are they trying to prevent the team from uncovering the truth? And why?

Something feels off from the beginning, but neither Jake nor Kaydon can pinpoint the issue. Especially with the growing attraction intensifying between them and their unexpected time alone together.

Be warned. Internal fireworks aren’t the only explosives in this story. Dani Pettrey has, as usual, the perfect blend of romantic tension and suspenseful mystery. One of my favorite elements of this story is the dialogue, the nostalgic questioning of the suspects. It holds the flavor of Dragnet with romantic intensity, like Bogart in Casablanca. Oo-la-la!

5 SabotagedAnd her characters ring vivid. Exceptional as always. Jake is the WARRIOR, emotionally wounded with desperate tragedy. Kaydon is an icicle. A CRUSADER who never lets her circumstances touch her heart. She bears deep wounds as well, secret fears that have molded her life. I’ve been looking forward to Kaydon and Jake’s story for some time. Since she first threw him a scathing glare for no apparent reason. Yummy.

While going through the Alaskan Courage series in order immerses the reader in the family dynamics, experiencing the first three stories is not a prerequisite for enjoying Silenced.
However, to unwrap each story in its order, start with Submerged, Shattered, then Stranded before you read Silenced. My reviews of these are at the links. And I can’t wait for the last element of this series, Sabotaged!

Author: Marji Laine

Marji is a recently "graduated" homeschooling mom whose twin girls have blessed her by sticking around the nest for a little longer. She spends her days directing the children’s music program at her church and working with the authors of Write Integrity Press to put out the best possible version of their books. Raised in suburban Dallas, she got her first taste of writing through the stories of brilliant authors of their day, Mignon Eberhart and Phyllis A. Whitney, and through stage experience. After directing and acting in productions for decades, Marji started writing her own scripts. From that early beginning, she delved into creating scintillating suspense with a side of Texas sassy. She invites readers to unravel their inspiration, seeking a deeper knowledge of the Lord’s Great Mystery that invites us all.

Comments are closed.